The House System at Brigidine College

All students and academic staff are welcomed into one of six Houses each under the administration of a Pastoral Leader.  Within each of the six Houses, staff administer six Home Room Groups which consist of students from all year levels.  Years 11 and 12 students serve as role models in each Home Room Group.  The Home Room Group promotes a strong sense of community and meet daily for personal care and administration with the Home Room Teacher who is the teacher responsible for their group. The Home Room teacher is always the first point of contact for parents regarding any wellbeing issues relating to their daughters.

Students are allocated to one of the six following houses


Chanel House is named after St Peter Chanel who is the patron saint of Oceania. He worked as a missionary in the Pacific until he died in 1841.


Delany House is named after Bishop Daniel Delany who founded the Brigidine Sisters in Ireland in 1807. He saw the need for people to have the rights and benefits of a Christian education.


Damien House is named after St Damien of Molokai. Born Jozef de Veuster, he went to the island of Molokai to work with lepers where he transformed the island into a community of respect and dignity.The students of Damien House are inspired by their patron’s example.

De Porres

De Porres House is named after St Martin De Porres, the patron saint of Social Justice.He is a great role model for all the good works that the students do here. This not only refers to encouraging everyone to achieve highly but also to participate with spirit and to strive for their best.


Foley House is named after Mother Brigid Foley, the first College Principal in 1929.She served the Indooroopilly community in this role until 1933.


Australia’s first saint, Mary MacKillop is the patron of MacKillop House. She was an ordinary woman who did extraordinary things.Students in MacKillop aspire as Mary did to “never see a need without doing something about it.”